On December 10, 1769, the English Captain Antonio Hunt, informs the Spanish Dn. Ruiz Puente, who was the Spanish Governor of the Malvinas Islands, that he had come to fill in the name of His Britannic Majesty, the Malvinas Islands , settling again in Port Egmont. The then Mayor General Juan Ignacio Madariaga, was sent with a naval force from Buenos Aires by the Spanish Governor Francisco de Paula Bucareli, and gets the English surrender on July 1, 1770.

British Invading Forces:

Captain Antonio Hunt

A frigate and 275 men and a stronghold equipped with artillery at Port Egmont.

Reclaimers Spanish Forces:

Captain Sq. Ignacio de Madariaga.

Four  frigates from 20 to 28 guns a Modified Frigate and a brigantine.

Crew: 1106 sailors.

Troop of Disembark: 294 infantrymen.

Total guns: 140.


The Royal Order of February 25, 1768 ordered the governor of Buenos Aires, Don Francisco de Paula Buccarelli, to expel the English from the domains of His Catholic Majesty. To do this he had met on the Rio de la Plata a powerful division four frigates under the command of Captain Ignacio de Madariaga, who was Major General of the Royal Navy, that is, something like Chief of Staff.

In this brief summary let us say that the governor gave orders to Madariaga, on March 26, 1770, to proceed to to expel the English, and he enlisted his forces, then composed of four frigates from 20 to 28 guns a Moddified Frigate and a brigantine. The troops embarked was 260-294 men and all men, including sailors and soldiers, totaled 1,400 and 140 guns.

This expedition had been preceded by fleet is comprised of the frigate "Santa Catalina" and two smaller vessels that had visited Port Egmont, found that English only be had in that location a frigate, about 275 men and that the artillery of the fort was weak.

It was thus that Madariaga with his forces attacked Port Egmont, and the British fired the "gun of honor" and surrendered. This occurred on June 10, 1770.